Cistern


The Basilica Cistern, is the largest of several hundred ancient cisterns that lie beneath the city of Istanbul, Turkey

The Basilica Cistern, is the largest of several hundred ancient cisterns that lie beneath the city of Istanbul, Turkey. November 21, 2015

21 Comments on “Cistern

    • Thank you, it required steady hands a railings to keep the camera steady. This was one of view that turned out well with the right composition. Cropping helped a bit.

      • Yes, I can guess, but you did great shot. Inside of this place always wet, I remember, I hardly walked because of my fear of slipping there. I hope it is not like that now. You are welcome and Thank you, love, nia

      • Thank you again.
        It was pretty dry on the walkways – fortunately.
        By the way congratulations on becoming a grandmother. By your picture one would never guess.

  1. Beautiful. How high was your ISO? Did you use a flash? All my shots in the Cistern have an orange cast. I loved Istanbul. Thanks.

    • Thank you. I believe it was 3200. I used Lightroom 6 to adjust color and then NIK filters to enhance the image. I shoot raw. We are enjoying Istanbul as well.

      • Thanks for the info. I’m shooting RAW too so I need to try playing with those images more.

      • Here is some additional information that could be helpful. I shoot at ALB or Auto Light Balance. Then adjusted the temp to 2000 and the tint to +15. That’s pushing to the edge of the blue but it seemed to work for me. Highlights were set to -41 shadows to +38, whited to -100 and blacks to -15. These may not be best for your images but …. Good luck with Lightroom.
        Let me know if I can help more.

  2. Lovely shot in a place so hard to capture because of the light, or lack there of. Well done Tim, its a beauty.

Leave a Reply

