Portraits


Taking pictures of people is one of the greatest joys I have as a photographer. Some of these are taken with the subject fully aware of me and my camera. Others are caught at a moment in time when they are not fully aware of me. My definition of portraiture is broad. The person could be engaged in a work as the fish monger in Taiwan or simply play as with the two Masai children were doing in Tanzania. When taking photos of a person I want their personality to show through. Sometimes it is in their smile or the frown on their face.

Taiwan Girl Staring

This girl from the Ching Long village in Taiwan, where my wife Jane Ingram Allen does her annual Ching Long Wetlands International Environmental Project really did not want me taking her picture. The girl was elusive and keep avoiding my camera. It became a game of defiance.

 

Tanzania - Mother of the Groom

Tanzania – Mother of the Groom

 

Too Tired to Eat

U.S.A. – Too Tired to Eat

 

Taiwan - Women with a Red Water Bottle

Taiwan – Women with a Red Water Bottle

 

Taiwan - Sparklers

Taiwan – Sparklers

 

Tanzania - Laughter

Tanzania – Laughter

 

U.S.A. - Family

U.S.A. – Family

 

Taiwan - Man with a Blue Hat

Taiwan – Man with a Blue Hat

 

Korea - Vendor

Korea – Vendor

 

Tanzania - Pizza Cook

Tanzania – Pizza Cook

 

Taiwan - Professor

Taiwan – Professor

 

Tanzania - Masai Mother and her Baby

Tanzania – Masai Mother and her Baby

 

U.S.A. - Volunteer for Fort Ross

U.S.A. – Volunteer for Fort Ross

 

Taiwan - Fish Monger

Taiwan – Fish Monger

 

Taiwan - Masked

Taiwan – Masked

 

Taiwan - Road Construction Dummy

Taiwan – Road Construction Dummy

 

U.S.A. - Working

U.S.A. – Working

 

Taiwan - Artist and Assistant

Taiwan – Artist and Assistant

 

Taiwan - Vendor

Taiwan – Vendor

 

Tanzania - Teachers and Students

Tanzania – Teachers and Students

 

Taiwan - Tastes Really Bad

Taiwan – Tastes Really Bad

 

U.S.A. - Grape Harvest

U.S.A. – Grape Harvest

 

Taiwan - Educator

Taiwan – Educator

 

Taiwan - Father and Daughter

Taiwan – Father and Daughter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

24 Comments on “Portraits

    • Thank you. The woman in “Laughter” was a volunteer at the Cheng long project. She was a lot of fun and extremely dedicated to her work with the artists from Holland. Here is the weblink to this project, http://artproject4wetland.wordpress.com

      I’m still working on adding photographs to this new blog theme. Slow but it allows me to look back at photos I’d forgotten about. I too am occasionally surprised.
      Thanks again,
      Tim

      Like

  1. There are some pretty lovely portraits here. Love the “Fish monger”, “Masked” and the “Professor”. And are those your daughters with your wife?

    Like

    • Thanks, Behind the mast was a young volunteer from Taipei who was helping with the ChengLong project but she did not want to get any sun.

      The three women in the photo are from left to right. Oleta, my wife’s youngest sister by 15 years: Jane: Kelsy, Oleta’s daughter who was 16. They do have a family resemblance. The event was my son’s wedding that was held 6 years ago.

      Like

  2. Hi Tim, you have a lovely variety here. My particular favourites would be Sparklers…..unusual with the smoke and the lighting on the face is excellent, plus the dark background. The Village Girl….well done for perseverance. The Road Construction Dummy, another unusual one and a great context, and also the Tastes Really Bad which is very natural, and I love the colour range. Thanks for showing them.
    Regards, John.

    Like

    • Taiwan is a great place for taking photos of people. Everyone is so used to photography that they are very open and friendly.
      The taste bad image was taken Taiwan night at the Ching Long International Environmental Art Project http://artproject4wetland.wordpress.com The foreign artists were given betel nuts to try.
      John, I really appreciate you taking a stroll through my blog. It is great to have your comments.

      Like

  3. Your Grape Harvest photo brought a tear to my eye. I was reminded of the hot back breaking work we used to do as migrant workers across the USA. I stared at this poor mans face and felt a deep compassion for this man as I understand only to well what endurance a person must have to do this kind of work. Well done. Maria

    Like

    • Hi Maria,
      Thank you for sharing this information. The Hispanic/Mexican population is very large here in California. Spanish is heard almost everywhere. However, most of those picking are less educated and are more isolated. Well you know this from your experiences.
      When we lived in Fellsmere, a small community in Florida, my son was in elementary school and learned Spanish from the migrant children in his school. He at times was the translator for their parents when an emergency took place. We had his friends over to our house and when they swam in our pool you would hear them shout “Mira, Mira, Mira” My son enjoyed playing little league baseball and joined the local team. He got his Spanish speaking friends join. There was some apprehension from both the white and Spanish speaking communities but when the team kept winning with these new players, everyone worked together. All the parents came to the ball games to shout encouragement in English and Spanish to their sons. My son still speaks fluent Spanish and Portuguese from being a Rotary exchange student for a year in Brasil.
      Tim

      Like

  4. nice work here Timothy. i agree, portraits are the most wonderful way to experience photography. your shots are sincere and clean. the personality of the people are right there for the viewer to feel. thanks. JT

    Like

  5. Lovely portraits. I particularly like “Taiwan – Sparklers” as she’s caught so beautifully between the light smoke and the dark background. It leads one’s eye into the picture. Her expression is also enhanced wonderfully by the angle of the light.
    “Taiwan – Father and Daughter” is great for it’s clarity and expression. The same goes for “Tanzania – Masai Mother and her Baby”, with that amused and caring look. My compliments.

    Like

    • Thank you so much Evert for wandering around my blog. I’m honored that you commented positively about my portraits. Taiwan people enjoy taking pictures of each other. Also, thank you for following my blog.
      Tim

      Like

  6. These are just lovely. The personalities striking. Being an amateur of a little over a month, this is where I want to be. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Thank you. However, I too have a long way to go to reach a point where I’m confident in what I’m doing. I would guess that is part of learning – “Never Satisfied” Ed, best with all of your photographic efforts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment